Catholics around the world, your workload for salvation just doubled! Monsignor Gianfranco Girotti said that the original seven, or the “sins of yesteryear…have a rather individualistic dimension.”

For those of you keeping score at home, those sins of yesteryear are:

  1. sloth
  2. envy
  3. gluttony
  4. greed
  5. lust
  6. wrath
  7. pride

The “sins of today” are:

  1. genetic modification
  2. carrying out experiments on humans
  3. polluting the environment
  4. causing social injustice
  5. causing poverty
  6. becoming obscenely wealthy
  7. taking drugs

Best of luck on your immortal life!

Full disclosure: I was raised a Catholic, but found it easier to generate my own guilt.

Tags: , , ,